prosciutto-wrapped honeyed pears and arugula

Last week, my leftovers were so fancy, I had to put earrings on.

I made myself a schmancy-ass pizza, so I had schmancy-ass leftovers. Handsome Greg brought pasta from D’Amico for our standing Saturday night date, and I MacGyvered my leftover prosciutto, pear, and arugula into an adorable appetizer.

I wanted to do a simple bite – pear slices and arugula wrapped in prosciutto – but the pear was quite under ripe. It worked fine roasted on a pizza, but it was not all that palatable raw. So I decided to sear the pear slices in olive oil and braise them in honey.

The resulting bite was delicious, but very soft. I would’ve liked a little something crispy in there. Next time, I’d start with a ripe bosc pear, drizzle it with honey, and keep it raw. As prepared below, I thought it could’ve used a bit more salt in the pears, and maybe a pinch of red pepper flakes.

Recipe below the fold

Prosciutto-wrapped Honeyed Pears and Arugula
Half a bosc pear, cored and sliced lengthwise
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon honey (I used wild blackberry honey)
Pinch of kosher salt
Several slices prosciutto
Arugula

Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the pear slices and sear for a minute on each side. Add honey and a pinch of salt, and cook until caramelized.

Roll up the pear slices and arugula leaves in the prosciutto slices. Cut the rolls in half, and spear each half with a toothpick.

Leave a Reply

