my mom’s stuffing

This week I’m posting Thanksgiving recipes, most of them on loan from my mom, who rules.

When I was a kid, I didn’t like stuffing.

Something about the texture – that was unlike our normal fare – aroused my suspicion.

As my palate has matured, I’ve found a very special place in my heart and my stomach for my mom’s incredibly delicious, yet traditional and simple stuffing.

Pre-stuffed and post-stuffed, it’s a perfect side dish: savory, creamy, crunchy.

I suggest serving it in a big bowl with two spoons, cuddling with your sweetheart in a tandem Snuggie on the sofa, watching A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving.

I’m so glad that I got over my texture issues and realized how entirely fabulous my mom’s stuffing is.

But until the day I die, I swear I will NEVER eat rice pudding. Gross me out the door.


Recipe below the fold

My Mom’s Stuffing

Most of one loaf sliced wheat bread, cubed
3 medium onions, chopped
1 small bunch of celery, chopped
2 sticks of butter
Dried sage
Poultry seasoning
Turkey stock
Salt

Heat the oven to 350º. Spread the bread cubes in an even, single layer on a baking sheet. Toast the bread cubes until they’re dry and slightly browned, working in batches.

Melt the butter in a Dutch oven. Add the onion and celery and sauté until soft but not brown. Stir in the bread cubes, and 1/2 teaspoon each of dried sage, poultry seasoning, and salt. Add 1/2 cup warmed turkey stock.

Continue adding seasoning by the 1/2 teaspoon and stock by the 1/2 cup until it tastes like Thanksgiving. Stuff it in the bird, or eat it as is.

Leave a Reply

