my mom’s mashed potatoes

This week I’m posting Thanksgiving recipes, most of them on loan from my mom, who rules.

My mom’s magical mashed potatoes come not from a recipe, but a philosophy. What that means, really, is that I have no specific quantities for this post. When I asked Mom for the recipe, the conversation went something like this:

SUZY: How many potatoes do you use?

MOM: That depends on how many potatoes I need.

SUZY: How long do you cook them?

MOM: Until they’re done.

Fin.

So, in lieu of an actual recipe, here are some basic guidelines to making perfect mashed potatoes:

  • use Yukon Gold potatoes
  • cut the potatoes into chunks, and place into cold water
  • bring to a boil, and cook until the potatoes are tender
  • drain the potatoes and return to the hot pan, off the heat
  • heat butter and heavy cream together in the microwave
  • pass the potatoes through a food mill
  • gently stir in warmed cream and melted butter
  • salt to taste

The resulting golden mashed potatoes are so delicious, I believe they could probably balance the national budget. And now I’m considering running for office on a mashed potato platform.

Leave a Reply

