Cheesy Ham, Potato, and Broccoli Casserole

Cheesy Ham and Potato Casserole

Delicate swags of broccoli buds. Tender-crisp morsels of gently braised potato. All swathed in a cheesy cream sauce perfumed with the salty smoke of thick-cut ham.

Baked Casserole

OK, who am I kidding? It’s just a casserole. But still, it broke my heart.

Casserole Ingredients

This morning I scraped spoonful after lovely, heaping spoonful of my hearty casserole into the garbage.

I made this recipe on Saturday afternoon for a week’s worth of lunches. Luckily I sent a couple servings home with Handsome Greg on date night, and I had a serving myself on Sunday, because the rest of it was spoiled when my refrigerator broke down Sunday night.

I called maintenance as soon as I realized my fridge wasn’t properly fridging. The ham put up a valiant fight, but it was too late to save the noble hotdish. I was left with a fridge full of rotten food, and nothing to eat. So much for saving money. Jimmy Johns for dinner. *sigh*

Stairway to Hamven

Stairway to Hamven

Continue reading for the Cheesy Ham, Potato, and Broccoli Casserole recipe

Cheesy Ham, Potato, and Broccoli Casserole
Recipe Type: Main
Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 1 hour 15 mins
Total time: 1 hour 30 mins
Serves: 8
A soul-satisfying one-dish meal with smoked ham, diced potatoes, and broccoli florets.
Ingredients
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1/4 cup green onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 (10 3/4 ounce) can cream of broccoli soup
  • 16 ounces light sour cream
  • 1 pound smoked ham, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 7 small russet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/4 inch cubes (6 cups diced)
  • 16-ounce bag frozen broccoli florets
  • 5 ounces shredded cheddar cheese
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly grease a 13×9-inch baking dish.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the dill, onion, water, soup, and sour cream; whisk until smooth. Add the remaining ingredients, mixing well. Spoon into prepared baking dish.
  3. Cover tightly with heavy-duty aluminum foil and bake for one hour. Remove the foil and bake for another 15 minutes.
Linked to: Flour on My Face, Big Bear’s Wife, Balancing Beauty and Bedlam, Nap Time Creations, 33 Shades of Green, My Sweet and Savory, The King’s Court IV, Lil’ Luna, Lady Behind the Curtain, A Little Nosh, Miz Helen’s Country Cottage, Ekat’s Kitchen
Leave a Reply

