Sweet Potato Chips with Rosemary Salt

Sweet Potato Chips with Rosemary Salt

Have you seen that Food Network show Barefoot Contessa, hosted by Ina Garten? Ina, an incredibly wealthy, preppy East Coaster, shares recipes and tips for entertaining in a soothing Bob Ross-style voice, punctuated with rhetorical questions and her trademark nervous giggle.

How easy is that?

While I do aspire to emulate the Barefoot Contessa by living a fabulously privileged life in the East Hamptons someday, full of florist friends and elegant soirees, I’ve had a difficult time adhering to one of Ina’s basic rules of entertaining: prepare only three dishes from scratch, and buy the rest of the menu pre-made from the deli counter.

You see, I’m known among my regular dinner guests as the hostess with the mostess ambition in the kitchen. I like to pour hours into making every morsel with my own two hands. I mean, I’ve made my own ketchup. The thought of leaving half the menu in the hands of the deli counter just feels wrong to me. And yet, Ina has a point – making everything myself often means that I spend the party in the kitchen exhausted, rather than enjoying dinner with my guests.

So I took a very important step with this recipe (if you can even call it a recipe). The first time I made sweet potato chips with rosemary salt, I sliced the potatoes, fried them in oil, and tossed them in rosemary and kosher salt. They were delicious – salty-sweet, perfectly crispy, with a fresh, pungent earthiness from the rosemary. And they were a huge pain in the ass to make.

The second time I prepared this delightful snack, I bought a bag of Terra Chips, tossed them in vegetable oil, rosemary, and kosher salt, and popped them in the oven for a couple minutes. They were every bit as good as the homemade version, and a lot less work.

Rosemary

But I have a reputation to uphold. So, if anyone asks, I risked my fingers and knuckles slicing paper-thin sweet potato chips on a mandolin slicer. Then I braved third-degree burns from the hot oil frying the chips to a perfect crisp. And oh! Dealing with the mess afterwards – a greasy splatter-slick covering the stove top and a quart of used oil to dispose of – what an ordeal! Of course, it was totally worth it.

Did that sound sincere?

Continue reading for the Sweet Potato Chips with Rosemary Salt recipe

Sweet Potato Chips with Rosemary Salt
Recipe Type: Appetizer
Author: Bake Up, Little Suzy
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 3 mins
Total time: 8 mins
Serves: 4
Salty-sweet and perfectly crispy, with a fresh, pungent earthiness from the rosemary.
Ingredients
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt, plus salt to taste
  • 1 6-ounce bag sweet potato chips, unsalted
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil.
  2. In a small bowl, combine oil, rosemary, and 1 teaspoon salt. Mix until smooth.
  3. Pour the chips into a large bowl and drizzle them with the rosemary and oil. Toss with your hands very gently, until the chips are evenly coated.
  4. Spread the chips on the prepared baking sheet and bake for 2 or 3 minutes. When they’re heated through, toss them again, add kosher salt to taste and serve immediately.
Linked to: Sweet Details, Mrs. Happy Homemaker, 2 Maids-a-Milking, Flour Me with Love, I Should Be Mopping the Floor, Make-Ahead Meals for Busy Moms, Balancing Beauty and Bedlam, Sweet Spot, My Favorite Finds, Southern Fairytale, Things that make you say Mmmmm, Sweetology, Mom’s Crazy Cooking, Nap Time Creations, Crazy for Crust, Chef in Training, Simply Sugar and Gluten Free, It’s a Blog Party, 33 Shades of Green, King’s Court IV, Lil’ Luna, Southern Product Queen, Newlyweds, Mandy’s Recipe Box, Lady Behind the Curtain, Junk in Their Trunk, Made Famous By, This Chick Cooks, Creations by Kara, Gooseberry Patch, Eat at Home, Mrs. Fox’s Sweets, A Little Nosh, Food Trip Friday, It’s a Keeper, Bizzy Bakes, Something Swanky, Hear the Bells, Miz Helen’s Country Cottage, Alli ‘n Sons, Not Your Ordinary Recipes, Tidy Mom, Country Cook, Jennifer Cooks, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, Crumbs and Chaos, Be Different, Act Normal, My Sweet and Savory, Feeding Four, Addicted to Recipes
Leave a Reply

