Lemon Pesto Pasta with Shrimp

Most of the year, I really appreciate the giant, south-facing windows in each room of my apartment. Particularly in wintertime as the sun rises and paints my buttery yellow walls with a gentle glow, I’m thankful that my odd-numbered apartment placed me on the south side of the building.

In July, however, those same windows with tightly sealed blinds conceal an indoor climate of roughly 8 berzillion degrees with a dew point of oh-my-god-my-hair-is-still-wet-three-hours-after-washing-it. I can’t believe I’m talking about the weather, but what the fork? It’s hot.

So hot. Only my lemon understands.

And that’s not just my garbage-crap excuse for failing to post a new recipe for nearly a month. It’s also my garbage-crap excuse for failing to cook anything blog-worthy for nearly a month. I’m smack-dab in the center of my annual mid-summer meal slump. I don’t really feel like cooking and nothing sounds good to me except salads and sandwiches.

So I was shocked—shocked—when I found myself craving pasta. In JULY. One steamy afternoon, I imagined twirling my fork in a mess of spaghetti, and I just had to make a light, sunshiny, quick and easy, pasta dinner. This lemon pesto capellini with shrimp is the perfect combination of bright, summer flavors, tender-toothsome textures, and crave-busting carbs.

Continue reading for the Lemon Pesto Pasta with Shrimp recipe

Lemon Pesto Pasta with Shrimp
Recipe Type: Main Dish
Author: Bake Up, Little Suzy
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 8 mins
Total time: 13 mins
Serves: 4
This lemon pesto capellini with shrimp is the perfect combination of bright, summer flavors, tender-toothsome textures, and crave-busting carbs.
Ingredients
  • 8 ounces uncooked angel hair pasta
  • 12 ounces ready-to-cook shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 7 ounces prepared basil pesto
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2 teaspoons finely grated lemon zest
Instructions
  1. In a large bowl, stir together the pesto, cream, and lemon zest until well combined.
  2. Cook the pasta in salted water per package directions, adding the shrimp during the last two minutes of cooking time. Cook just until shrimp are pink and opaque. Drain.
  3. Add the pasta and shrimp to the pesto mixture and toss gently.
Linked to: I Should Be Mopping the Floor, Mrs. Happy Homemaker, Make-Ahead Meals for Busy Moms, A Southern Fairytale, Flour Me with Love, Things that make you say Mmm, Sweetology, Chef in Training, Nap Time Creations, 2 Maids a Milking, Balancing Beauty and Bedlam, It’s a Blog Party, 33 Shades of Green, Lil’ Luna, King’s Court IV, Bizzy Bakes, Gooseberry Patch, Made Famous By, This Chick Cooks, Creations by Kara, Junk in Their Trunk, Lady behind the Curtain, Newlyweds, A Little Nosh, Miz Helen’s Country Cottage, Hear the Bells, , Food Trip Friday, It’s a Keeper, Not Your Ordinary Recipes, Tidy Mom, The Country Cook, Crumbs and Chaos, The Sweet Details, Be Different, Act Normal, My Favorite Finds, Something Swanky, Addicted to Recipes
Leave a Reply

