Buffalo Chicken Calzones

Forgive me, foodies, for I have slacked off. It has been 26 days since I last posted a new recipe. I’m not Catholic, so that’s as far as I’m willing to take the confession metaphor.

All kidding aside, I’ve just been really overwhelmed by life outside the kitchen lately. Between my job, writing a new show, and keeping Handsome Greg and Professor Meowington happy, I’m swamped. The thought of creating a unique recipe accompanied by a clever tale makes me want to cry into my apron.

And so, in the interest of keeping my blog alive (while exerting the VERY least amount of effort) I’m sharing an entirely unoriginal and frankly lazy-ass recipe. It’s easy, tasty, and a little bit embarrassing.

I am sorry for these and all the sins of my kitchen.


Continue reading for the Buffalo Chicken Calzone recipe.

Buffalo Chicken Calzones

Recipe Type: Entree
Author: Bake Up, Little Suzy
Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 15 mins
Total time: 30 mins
Serves: 4
Spicy Buffalo chicken is wrapped in pastry with pungent, gooey cheese.
Ingredients
  • 1 can pizza dough
  • 2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
  • 1/3 cup buffalo sauce
  • 1/4 cup crumbled Gorgonzola
  • 1/4 cup shredded 4-cheese Italian blend
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • Sesame seeds
Instructions
  1. Heat oven to 425°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Unroll the pizza dough and place on the parchment-lined cookie sheet. Starting in the middle, press the dough into a 14×10-inch rectangle. Using a pizza wheel, cut the dough into four rectangles.
  3. In a small bowl, mix the chicken and buffalo sauce. Divide the chicken mixture into four equal portions and scoop onto the left side of each rectangle, leaving a 1-inch border. Sprinkle with both cheeses.
  4. Fold the right sides of the dough over the filling and pinch the edges to seal. Brush on egg and sprinkle with sesame seeds.
  5. Bake 14 to 16 minutes or until golden brown.
Linked to: I Should Be Mopping the Floor, Make-Ahead Meals for Busy Moms, Flour Me with Love, Chef in Training, Nap Time Creations, Balancing Beauty and Bedlam, It’s a Blog Party, 33 Shades of Green, Lil’ Luna, King’s Court IV, Bizzy Bakes, Gooseberry Patch, Creations by Kara, Lady behind the Curtain, Newlyweds, A Little Nosh, Miz Helen’s Country Cottage, Food Trip Friday, Not Your Ordinary Recipes, Tidy Mom, The Country Cook, Crumbs and Chaos, Be Different, Act Normal, My Favorite Finds, Something Swanky, Addicted to Recipes
Leave a Reply

