Pasta Scampi

Veronica! Dinner!

Every once in a long while, when my hair is lacking in shine and my fingernails are especially raggedy and I’m feeling a little insecure, I can’t help but wonder if my sharing recipes here at Galley Kitchen is little more than a desperate plea for the validation of strangers. I mean, why else would I bother with stats on page hits and click-thrus?

Pepperoni Stuffed Chicken

And why, other than the steaming pot of self-doubt simmering on the stove, would I feel the need to bring up my recipe for pepperoni-stuffed chicken breasts, my most popular recipe of 2012? Sure, I served today’s simple pasta scampi alongside the “famous” chicken parmesan variation for Handsome Greg’s birthday dinner, but that’s a pretty slim excuse to draw a big, fat arrow pointing to my number one recipe.

I hope you’ll forgive my blatant exploitation of the chicken, and take a look at the simple dish I served with it. The tender pasta is coated in butter with a little acidity from white wine, a lot of freshness from Italian parsley, and a punch of heat from red pepper flakes.

Herbs

And ultimately, it doesn’t matter that this simple pasta is wearing a modest house dress. It’s going to the homecoming dance with the most popular poultry in school.

Continue reading for the Pasta Scampi recipe.

Pasta Scampi

Recipe Type: Pasta
Cuisine: Italian
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 10 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 6
Tender pasta is coated in butter with a little acidity from white wine, a lot of freshness from Italian parsley, and a punch of heat from red pepper flakes.
Ingredients
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 pound angel hair pasta
  • 1/2 cup chopped Italian parsley
Instructions
  1. Prepare the pasta per package directions, reserving about 1 cup of the starchy cooking water.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat.
  3. Add garlic, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, about 2 minutes.
  4. Add the wine and butter, stirring until butter is melted. Remove skillet from heat.
  5. Toss the pasta with the garlic mixture and the chopped parsley in a large bowl, adding some of reserved pasta water if necessary to keep moist.
Linked to: I Should Be Mopping the Floor, Make-Ahead Meals for Busy Moms, Flour Me with Love, Chef in Training, Nap Time Creations, Balancing Beauty and Bedlam, It’s a Blog Party, 33 Shades of Green, Lil’ Luna, King’s Court IV, Bizzy Bakes, Gooseberry Patch, Creations by Kara, Lady behind the Curtain, Newlyweds, A Little Nosh, Miz Helen’s Country Cottage, Food Trip Friday, Not Your Ordinary Recipes, Tidy Mom, The Country Cook, Crumbs and Chaos, Be Different, Act Normal, My Favorite Finds, Something Swanky, Addicted to Recipes
Leave a Reply

